Deadline for Nationals of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone to Register for TPS is August 18, 2015

Mechelle Zarou
Mechelle Zarou

August 18, 2015, is the deadline for eligible nationals of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone to register for Temporary Protected Status (“TPS”).  Also included in this group are people without nationality who last habitually resided in one of those three countries.    The TPS designations for these three countries run from Nov. 21, 2014, through May 21, 2016.

In order to be eligible for TPS, applicants must demonstrate that they meet all eligibility criteria, including that: (i) they have been “continuously residing” in the U.S. since November 20, 2014; (ii) they have been “continuously physically present in” the U.S. since November 21, 2014; and (iii) they are able to pass security checks. Please keep in mind that applicants with certain criminal records or who pose a threat to national security are not eligible for TPS.

Additionally, Liberian nationals currently covered under the two-year extension of Deferred Enforced Departure (“DED”) based on President Obama’s Sept. 26, 2014 memorandum may apply for TPS.

To register, applicants must submit:

  • Form I-821, Application for Temporary Protected Status.
  • Bometrics services fee (or a fee-waiver request) if 14 years old or older.
  • Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization, regardless of whether you want an EAD.
  • Form I-765 application fee or a fee-waiver request. If you do not want an EAD, no application fee is required.

For more information, please contact Mechelle Zarou at 419.321.1460 or

Share this: